Past or Present? These Easy Rules Will Make Your Writing So Much Better

English with a Smile

In the past weeks, I’ve been reading and marking lots of students’ essays. These always interest me very much, and not only because of the new or informative content. They also tell me about mistakes that are made a lot.

So I thought I’d talk about a typical mistake that you might find useful in your own writing:

Not being clear about whether what you write is in the past or present.

* Some weaker students happily tell about events in the past using the present tense. This is possible, when you’re telling a joke. Normally, however, you tell about past events in the past tense!

* Another error is using a mix of past and present. I suspect that students who make this mistake don’t know exactly which tense they should use. Or it could also be the case that they don’t know what the past tense…

View original post 576 more words

14 thoughts on “Past or Present? These Easy Rules Will Make Your Writing So Much Better

  1. Greate pieces. Keep writing such kind of info on
    your page. Im really impressed by it.
    Hello there, You’ve done a great job. I’ll certainly digg it and individually suggest to my friends.
    I’m confident they’ll be benefited from this website.

  2. Attractive portion of content. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and in accession capital
    to claim that I acquire in fact enjoyed account your weblog posts.
    Any way I’ll be subscribing on your feeds and even I fulfillment you get right of entry to persistently fast.

  3. Hey there would you mind letting me know which webhost you’re working with?
    I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different web browsers and I
    must say this blog loads a lot quicker then most.

    Can you recommend a good internet hosting provider at a reasonable price?
    Thank you, I appreciate it!

  4. I believe that is one of the so much significant information
    for me. And i’m glad studying your article. However should statement
    on some normal things, The site style is wonderful, the articles is really great
    : D. Just right job, cheers

Leave a Reply

