Being polite- favours, complaints, agreeing, disagreeing

Relax! Speak English

1) The following expressions are all used to say things more carefully so that you don’t upset someone. Put them in the correct categories:

… seems to be…

I don’t mean to be rude, but…

I seem to …..

I’m afraid….

Would it be possible to….?

quite

a little

Could you….?

Don’t you think?

I don’t mean to disturb you, but….

I was wondering if I could….

It looks like….

a bit

really (in negative sentences)

It appears….

Wouldn’t it be better…..?

rather

Would you mind….?

A) A word or phrase to soften an adjective, verb or adverb

B) A negative question used to politely disagree or argue with someone

C) A polite request

D) A softening phrase used to introduce a problem, complaint, negative remark, etc.

Now complete the dialogues using some of these expressions:

Dialogue 1

Shop assistant: Can I help you, sir?

Mark: Yes, I bought a…

View original post 698 more words

Leave a Reply

